Posted by: colegrove | Friday 26 September 2008

Water and Thievery

I know, right?” This phrase seemed to pop up from no where. One day about 2 months ago, my sister-in-law mentioned those words in a sentence. Twice in one night. Neither time did it make any sense. Then I go to work. I work with 90% females. They all start saying the phrase. I have never heard it before, and then, BOOM, it’s everywhere. I tried to stop a few of them and ask about it, but they didn’t realize they had said those words, and didn’t realize they are completely grammatically incorrect to place in a conversation the way they are. Where in the world did this originate from? Many assume it was from a movie named Mean Girls, but I wonder… At least it’s being spoken mostly by women as opposed to men. Perhaps there is hope for the human race with the few, the proud, the-people-who-don’t-say-silly-phrases!

As one blogger wrote:

“And what does it even mean? That you have an opinion, but you need my permission to validate it? Don’t ask me if you know immediately after you tell me you know. Either you know or you don’t know. The next time you say, “I know, right,” expect me to say, “no, you’re wrong. You obviously don’t know, so don’t waste my time trying to convince me you do.” It’s the worst catchphrase since “am I right or am I right?”. Don’t give me options, ’cause I’ll take you up on them.”

Sometimes I think it’s the water people drink. Well, maybe not in this case.

Now I am sitting here, before I head to bed, drinking Echinacea and Elderberry Tea to get my lymphatic system in gear and help protect myself from a cold that a person I work with has. Interesting story on Elderberry from the 1990’s – an Israeli scientist discovered it cuts the length of colds by more than a half! I’ll leave it to you to look up on your own. Well, anyway, as I sit here, thinking, this blog and the last one haven’t been nearly as good quality as the first two or so, my mind shifts to the water that the tea is steeped in. Water. Nature’s best solvent.

Speaking of water, has anyone seen the movie, My Big Fat Greek Wedding? I am not big into chick flicks but this one was alright. If anyone recalls, the dad was a big fan of Windex. Whenever a problem arose, or a solution was needed, he would run and grab it – even in the most ludicrous of situations, which made it funny. My own personal remedy is water. Think about it. My wife says she’s got a head-ache. I tell her to drink water and 9 out of 10 times it goes away. It may not be a complete cure-all, but the fact is most people do not drink nearly enough water. The vast majority of us are in a state of dehydration most of the time. By the time you realize your thirsty, you’re in the beginning stages. One should read Your Body’s Many Cries for Water, by Doctor Fereydoon Batmanghelidj, M.D. Amazing work! “You’re not sick, your thirsty” is his slogan.

Well, I just finished a book by Paul and Patricia Bragg, pioneers in the field of health and nutrition in the early 20th century. It was called Water: The Shocking Truth That Can Save Your Life. Listening to Radio Liberty had made me aware of the dangers of fluoridated and chlorinated water for some years now, but I never thought too much about how to remove it from ones drinking water, until this book. Dr. Russell Blaylock, MD, has a good interview at this website, run my Mike Adams, on fluoride. Blaylock writes for NewsMax Magazine. and has recently been

Bragg

Bragg

doing research into nutrition’s effect on behavior. I have used regular carbon filters for tap water since college, but now, I realize that pure water is found in steam distilled water that has also been run through a carbon filter. It removes both chlorine, fluoride, chemicals, germs, and heavy metals that will calcify your arteries. The image to the right is a basic idea of how distilled water (like rain water) is the purist you can find.

Okay, okay. I can hear you think it… He’s rambling again.

On to a new topic. Human nature again. So, I was going for a nice leisurly evening walk with the little lady and we were accousted by some guy. He just walked out onto the sidewalk and threatened to rob and kill us. We managed to not panic and he left us, and we kept walking, but it was a shock, for sure. The biggest thought in my mind was why? Why would someone who doesn’t know you, to whom you’ve never insulted in your life, walk up to you and threaten you? It doesn’t make logical sense. Perhaps it goes back to water. What was that Capital One commercial? What’s in your water? Anyway, I guess I had forgotten that not everyone thinks before they act and thinks of consequences. Honestly, what goes thru that guys mind? Doesn’t everyone think before they act and have a moral compass (of some sort or another)? Well, anyway… From now on I’ll walk during the day, in thee best part of town, carrying protection.

Speaking of maturity, it reminds me of a quote by Dave Ramsay,

“It is human nature to want it and want it now; it is also a sign of immaturity. Being willing to delay pleasure for a greater result is a sign of maturity. However, our culture teaches us to live for the now. “I want it!” we scream…”

Now, wouldn’t the world be a different place if we all listened to that quote and applied it? Kids would have more stable homes, because before their parents “got together” (infatuation), they were willing to delay pleaseure for a greater result (love). They showed this by their actions. We’d all think before we act if we took that advice, I imagine.

But seriously… what kind of idiot does that? (Back to the creepy thug who approached us on the street). Walks up and tries… okay, I’ll calm down. New topic…

Ron Paul

Ron Paul

Chuck Baldwin

Chuck Baldwin

Good news, Ron Paul has finally decided to endorse a candidate. Chuck Baldwin. I thought Bob Barr was quality at first, but the more I look at his record, the less freedom-loving he became. Remember the Constitution. Not to offend any John McCain or Barak Obama supporters, but eventually, the more you look into politics, the more it becomes apparent that there are in reality little differences between the two major party candidates. The media can and will spin stories to make it appear differently, but that’s how I see it. I welcome comments. Until then, I will finish a chapter in The 4-Hour Workweek. A very interesting read about the life of it’s author and how he lives. Inspirational for sure. And then hit the bed for at least 8 hours.

Leave a Reply

Categories

